World Accreditation Day
30th April 2019
SSIP Presents at the HSE CONIAN Event
6th July 2019

SSIP Pilot Assessment Programme completed – Accreditations granted

UKAS and Safety Schemes in Procurement (SSIP) Ltd have been collaborating since 2017 to include the SSIP requirements in the UKAS assessment of certification bodies in the SSIP scheme.

The pilot assessment programme is now nearing completion, with the last two Certification Bodies expected to achieve Grant before the July deadline. The pilot programme was a huge success, 20 of the original 24 Certification Bodies that applied to the pilot programme, progressed through to Grant. This is a great achievement for the Certification Bodies and UKAS is looking forward to continued growth in this area as more Certification Bodies expand their accreditation to include SSIP.

The SSIP requirements (the Core Criteria in the SSIP Rules and Bylaws) are embedded in ISO 45001: 2018 Occupational health and safety management systems Requirements with guidance for use or BS OHSAS 18001: 2007 Occupational health and safety management systems – Requirements.

SSIP is committed to ensure reduction in health and safety assessment costs and bureaucracy in the supply chain, by making cross-recognition between SSIP member schemes as effective as possible. Organisations that hold OHSAS 18001 or ISO 45001 with an UKAS SSIP accreditation body will be able to take advantage of the Deem to Satisfy (Mutual Recognition) arrangement and potentially gain certification with 27 Registered Members without the need for further assessment. As more buyers and suppliers embrace SSIP certification the benefits to industry include cost savings of circa £168 million since March 2019.

We are delighted that the SSIP Sector Scheme is nearing completion and believe this collaboration will support continued reduction in health and safety prequalification costs and bureaucracy in the supply chain.

Eleanor Eaton, Chair, SSIP
05 June 2019


* SSIP Certification Body Member Schemes comprise:
ACM-CCAS Limited, ACS Registrars Ltd, Advanced Certification , Alcumus ISOQAR Ltd, British Assessment Bureau, BSI Assurance UK Limited, Bureau Veritas Certification UK Limited, DNV GL Business Assurance UK Limited, Intertek Certification Limited, Lloyd’s Register Quality Assurance Ltd [LRQA], National Standards Authority of Ireland [NSAI], NQA Certification Ltd, Ocean Certification Limited, SGS United Kingdom Ltd, Steel Construction Certification Scheme, System Certification Services Ltd, TÜV UK LTD, United Registrar Systems, Warringtonfire Testing and  Certification Limited trading as BM TRADA.